New DIYer Filter Questions

Hansformat

New DIYer Filter Questions

Post by Hansformat »

All

I am new to this and have some questions about filtering.

My plan is a first pass through an unbleached coffee filter. Then a second pass through a 3 micron filter. This seems to follow the ideas in the youtube video where the creator does not advocate microfiltering.

My questions:
1. Is this a sound approach?
2. What equipment and filters do i need to buy. I’m looking at several sites and the filtering equipment choice is daunting. What i am looking for are specific recommendations that people are using successfully.

Many thanks

Jas

Hourman

Re: New DIYer Questions

Post by Hourman »

Welcome Jas,
I've been a DIY mixer for a couple of years, but am still new to NET extractions. I started out of curiosity and to be prepared for if and when our government outlaws commercial flavorings. I've taken a very inexpensive and low tech approach to filtering. I bought an AeroPress for less than $30.00 and just filter twice using the paper filters which came with it. There is really no visible residue left on the second paper, so I wonder if I even need that step. I don't notice that my coils gunk up all that fast. In my opinion, this fast and inexpensive system is good enough. I would only bother with a finer filtration if I was thinking about selling my juice. Please let us know what you settle on and how it's working for you.

Hansformat

Post by Hansformat »

Hourman

Thank you for responding. I will look into this device.

Jas

Peter_Ramish

Post by Peter_Ramish »

Hansformat wrote:
Tue Sep 14, 2021 5:00 pm
...specific recommendations that people are using successfully.

Sorry it took me so long to post the following information. This was originally published by Kinniknnick over at :
https://forum.e-liquid-recipes.com/t/n- ... /28032/123

Here is a cut and paste from that site of the images of his method:

Kinnikinnick

Re: New DIYer Filter Questions

Post by Kinnikinnick »